PDA

View Full Version : Gasahol Cont.

Norskersword
08-25-2004, 02:56 AM
For those of you who don't know, some of us on the gotmead forum have been talking about the "gasohol" effect on many threads. "Gasohol" is what we call a mead that tastes a bit like "gasoline" or "jet fuel" and, although this usually dissapates with age, many of us have been curious as to what causes this phenomenon.

Although I am fairly new to mead and have only made 3 batches, all three of these have been victim to the gasohol effect. Why?

I believe now I know exactly what the cause is. Out of curiosity I bought a cheap thermometer and put it in the closet where I keep my batches. What I found was that in that little closet it is an average of 81 degrees! Last night when I checked it was a bit over this. I guess that since I've been living in CA my whole life 80 degrees doesn't seem hot and I never realized or was even concerned about paying attention to the temperature range of the yeasts I use.

The three batches I've done so far were Cote De Blanc, Montrachet, and Premier Cuvee. All three of these have resulted in Gasohol and all three of the temperature limits were 80 degrees.

The cause of the gasohol effect must be from exposure to temperatures beyond (even slightly beyond) the temperature tolerance of the yeast.

This is not just a lesson to me but to all meadmakers to pay attention to the temperature tolerance ranges of the yeast you decide to use.

My last two batches I just started made use of K1V-1116 and D-47. Luckily both of these have higher temperature ranges than 80 degrees, especially K1V-1116. It's no wonder these are such popular yeasts.

WikdWaze
08-25-2004, 03:03 AM
This is something that concerns me greatly. Georgia is every bit as warm as CA and our A/C system is busted. I'll either have to ferment in the bedroom where we have a window unit installed, or buy a second window unit for the spare room so I can ferment in there.

Norskersword
08-25-2004, 03:08 AM