PDA

View Full Version : Stopping Fermentation?

Rygar
10-10-2003, 07:16 AM
Okay..I'm relatively new to this hobby, but I'm already really pumped about it! :)

Like I tried to explain to my wife, I'm taking up this hobby for the taste of mead, not to try and see how potent I can make it.

The way I figure it, I would brew a batch and taste it often. when It gets to the point that I like it, I want to stop the fermentation so as not to keep adding to the alchol content and dry it out. I really dislike the dry wines.

So, after that long winded intro...any one have any tips on how to stop fermentation to where you want it?

polarbearforge
10-10-2003, 10:47 AM
There are additives that you can get from your homebrew store that will stop fermentation. I've never done it the way you've suggested, simply because there is no aging involved and that really does change the overall flavor.

I would recommend using a yeast designed for sweet meads/wines. It will die off at a lower alcohol concentration, leave plenty of residual sugar so it's not dry (I don't like dry either) and still be able to complete it's course.

A spice wine that I made once, didn't tase quite right until it had aged a couple years. If I had repeatedly tasted it while it was fermenting, I probably would have tossed the batch instead of letting it do its thing.

Jamie

Rygar
10-13-2003, 03:21 AM
Thanks for the info Jamie.

I was actually going to tyr to use it for this years gifts. This batch started out about the middle of Sept. with a SG of 1.115, and about three weeks later I racked it to my glass with a SG of about 1.07. It was still just a tad too sweet, but I'm afraid of getting something that will taste like kerosene when the yeast is done fermenting.

I like a really sweet mead, almost sickening sweet to allot of people. ;) I'm using Lalvin EC-1118, and my research showed me that this yeats is pretty good for leaving residual sugar and making a pretty good mead.