PDA

View Full Version : Going commercial next year...

Redleg
01-05-2004, 06:55 AM
Well, I just got the results form the amateur winemaker competition hosted by Winemaker Magazine. My buckwheat mead was awarded a gold medal, which was my benchmark for whether or not I should go into business making this amazing drink.

So, as of early next year, I will be starting a meadery in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area of Virginia.

The jury is still out on what we should call it, so any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Also, am I getting in over my head? Should "don't quit your dayjob" be my motto?

Any help or suggestions would be great! My business plan is complete, we just need to put it to work.

Brian

Jmattioli
01-05-2004, 08:16 AM
Hello Brian,
That's Great news :D
Don't know much about the meadery business since I've less than a years experience but I am a successful retired business owner retiring at age 54 after starting a jewelry and coin business I knew little about from scratch in 1987. So here's my advice. If you have good products for a reasonable price and the ENTHUSIAM and INTEREST, you need only be of average intelligence or slightly below to make it! Here are some of the conservative rules I followed to my benefit.
#1 Don't quit your regular job til the business is up and running and can provide your needed income.
#2 Don't borrow money except from your self.
#3 Fall in love with all your customers because they will be the ones feeding you.
#4 Stay focused on your goal and always be looking for new products or ideas to increase your business.
#5 Follow through on your ideas. Even a bad idea will work if you work it hard enough.
#6 If you are married, make sure your wife is behind you.
#7 Don't look into all the problems associated with the business up front as this may change your mind.