• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Campden tablet reaction?

Barrel Char Wood Products

monkeyb0y

NewBee
Registered Member
Sep 17, 2004
Hi all
I'm a newbie getting ready to bottle my first still show mead and I've
come across an interesting reaction. In preparation for bottling I
added 6 Campden tablets (ground and dissolved in half a cup of water)
to 5 gallons of mead that has been bulk aging in a carboy since the
end of Feb. When I added it there was a reaction which caused a slow
"mead foam volcano" out of the top of the carboy. Now the mead is
bubbling away nicely, so much so that I had to add an airlock to avoid
blowing the cap off the carboy. So here's the question (or questions)-
Is this normal? Is the mead OK? (tastes OK so far, not like vinegar)
and should I be concerned?
Thanks
monkeyb0y

Oskaar

Got Mead Partner
Administrator
Dec 26, 2004
The OC
Just curious as to why six tablets instead of five.

If the mead tastes good and looks good it's probably good.