PDA

View Full Version : Corks or Caps?

mavityre
09-25-2004, 05:36 AM
Howdy again folks.
Sorry for all the posts but if I don't post imMEADiately, I will have forgotten what I was going to say.

What is best for bottling mead? Corks or caps? I have always used caps for ciders,occasional mead and beers.

dogglebe
09-25-2004, 06:22 AM
Howdy again folks.
Sorry for all the posts but if I don't post imMEADiately, I will have forgotten what I was going to say.

It's okay, HONEY, we forgive you. Now BEE a dear stop with the mead puns. They're giving me HIVES.

What is best for bottling mead? Corks or caps? I have always used caps for ciders,occasional mead and beers.

Caps are more practical. Corks are just for presentation, IMHO.

Phil

mavityre
09-25-2004, 06:33 AM
LOL ;D

Thanks

Pewter_of_Deodar
09-26-2004, 04:33 AM
I have no personal experience yet... but I was under the impression that you corked bottles that you were planning on keeping a long time (several years) and capped things you planned on drinking within a year or two max... Dunno...

I pretty much cork everything I bottle unless I know it will be used within a month or three, then I use taster's corks instead...

Jmattioli
09-26-2004, 08:58 AM
Here's an article on screw caps you might find interesting:
http://www.winespectator.com/Wine/Daily/News/0,1145,2374,00.html
I purchased a dozen bottles and caps to give them a try. I like not having to set them on their side as with corks. Corks do make a better presentation but I think these are the wave of the future.
Joe

Oskaar
09-26-2004, 12:31 PM
I think you're BARKing up the wrong tree Mavityre because screw caps get my SEAL of approval!

Screw caps have been tested against corks and provide a better seal, a longer lasting seal and less loss of wine per lot than bottles that have been corked.