PDA

View Full Version : Bubbling rate

llewin
10-09-2004, 11:59 PM
OK. So my first batch of mead, which was actually a metheglin i supposes since i used tea and cinnamon in it... but anyway! :)

It started bubbling about 3-5 times a minute almost immediately but has not bubbled any faster since the beginning and may actually be bubbling slower... it seems to average 1 bubble every 15 to 30 secconds... Is this normal for a primary ferment?

Just as a bit of background I am making about 1 gallon of mead but it is in a 6 gallon primary.

*a bit worried as i'm new to this and dont know what normal would be for the fermentation bubbling...

Any help and guidance would be very helpful!

thank,

Llewin

Jmattioli
10-10-2004, 12:20 AM
1 gallon in a 6 gallon primary may be the problem. You have so much airspace to fill up and build up pressure and are probably getting bursts rather than steady bubbles which makes bubble rate deceptive. With 1 gallon batches , you don't need a large primary like that. Just put it all in a 1 gallon jug with airlock and 4 inches of airspace. After a day or so of foaming you top it off to about 2-3 inches and let it go to fermentation completion. I would recommend you get it out of the 6 gallon primary now and put in a 1 gallon carboy. Also, from one of your past posts I noticed you did not include nutrients and are using Montrechet with spring water. I would add some nutrients to be on the safe side if this is that batch since there is no fruit or other ingredient supplying nutrients. If you have none, add a handful of natural raisins as they will do wonders.
Joe

Pewter_of_Deodar
10-10-2004, 12:50 AM