PDA

View Full Version : Design Help Requested

jab
11-22-2004, 08:56 PM
Alright good folks of GotMead? I have a few requests. I am in the process of writing a homebrew application. It has a working title of Home Brew Notebook or HBN. The current homepage is at http://radiofreeomaha.net:8080/hbn/, where you will find the first of the web services. Some features I would like to support include:

* Recipe database
* Batch journal
* Inventory (both for individual ingredients and for finished brew)
* Batch size conversion (easily take a 5 gal batch and have the app convert the amounts for a 1 gal, 3 gal, 10 gal batch)
* Various tools (ABV, ABW, Metric<->US, OG estimation, etc.)
* Web Service friendly (the original interface will be web based but I would like to expose the inner workings to web services so that clients can be written in any language that supports it)

While I have no problem working on the backend and it’s interface to the front end (I am a programmer by trade) I have little to no visual and database design abilities. So I have 2 requests.

1. I would like someone to design a logo and/or help advise on the ‘look’ of the web interface/client.

2. Anyone with experience in designing databases that would be willing to give me a hand.

Credit will be given where credit is due of course, we can discuss terms of use for the logo etc. when the time is right. If there is enough interest and logo designs I would gladly put the logos up on GM? For a vote.

Initially the application will be very mead centric but should be applicable to other brews as well.

This project is in the early stages but I hope to be able to progress quickly into something useable.

Also, after looking at the list of features above if you think of anything you would like to see in such an application let me know, all suggestions will be seriously considered.

Thanks for your time and consideration.

-jb

Talon
11-22-2004, 09:23 PM