• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Help ! My corks won't stay put !

Barrel Char Wood Products

Misty

NewBee
Registered Member
Jul 14, 2005
Hi everyone, I'm new to meadmaking. I started my first batch based on Ken Schramm's no heat medium sweet orange blossom mead. Here are the details:
15 lbs. honey
enough spring water to bring up to 5 gallons
2 tsp. nutrient
1 tsp. energizer
2 packets Lalvin 71b-1122

7/8/05 Started in primary OG 1.110
7/23/05 Racked into carboy SG 1.022
9/9/05 Fermentation stopped, I waited about a week then tasted and measured SG, was very dry 0.998, added 2.5 tsp. potassium sorbate

Today (9/11/05) I racked into clean primary fermenter and backsweetened by adding 3 cups honey. FG 1.012

Bottled into 375ml blue stretch bottles with an automatic bottle filler and corked with #9 corks. Corks were submersed for one hour in a gallon of water with two crushed campden tablets and a few drops of gylcerin before bottling. They will remain upright for 3 days.