PDA

View Full Version : airlocks

Oddr
09-18-2005, 09:25 PM
I'm pretty new and I'd like to make some mead but I have no idea what an airlock is. I understand what the purpose of it is but not sure what you use for one. Is it something I could make or do I need to buy one? I've heard people use ballons but what do I need to use?

WRATHWILDE
09-18-2005, 09:58 PM
Oddr,

Welcome to the forum!

Airlocks are cheap, you can pick them up online. You'll need a stopper with hole for your carboy or gallon jug, but the lids on fermentation buckets will already have a pre drilled & gasketed hole for the airlock.

http://www.morebeer.com/product.html?product_id=16598

wrathwilde

Oddr
09-18-2005, 10:10 PM
I'm New To Making Mead And I Really Appreciate The Help. Thank You For The Quick Feedback.

JoeM
09-18-2005, 10:20 PM
Airlocks can be purchased from any brewshop and often cost no more than a dollar. You can make one yourself simply and cheaply by just fitting your fermentation vessel with a piece of sanitized hose and running the other end into a vessel containing water or sanitizing solution. A balloon is a very quick (and half assed) way of making an airlock and i would suggest against it as its very easy to make a good one.

Oddr
09-18-2005, 11:02 PM
Well I Don't Have Any Brewshops In My Area So I'll Try To Do What You Suggested But If I Get Pissed I'm Sure I'll Just Order Me One. Thanks For Your Input.

Brewbear
09-19-2005, 02:57 AM
Hey Oddr,
Welcome to the forums :)