PDA

View Full Version : too high an OG on my cyser?

memento
10-02-2005, 03:42 PM
I'm doing my first cyser today and must've underestimated to SG of the cider. The OG of my mead is 1.16.

3.5 gallons of local cider
1.5 gallons of wildflower honey
2 tsp of yeast energizer
wyeast dry mead smack pack started 24 hrs in advance. pack was very well started! date of manufacture was sept 20th 1005. very fresh.

no boiling, but pitched at a temp of 78degrees.

I spent almost all day finding an orchard that DOESN'T use K-sorbate. but I confirmed that they UV their cider and do not use any chemicals.

My question is - is the SG too high for fermentation? I think this will end up where I want it, as long it ferments!

WRATHWILDE
10-02-2005, 07:55 PM
You'll probably end up with between a sweet to semi-sweet mead at those levels, if Wyeast can take you to 18%. I have no experience with Wyeast so I'm not familiar with the tolerance. You should be OK.

Wrathwilde

memento
10-02-2005, 08:11 PM
As long as fermentation will not be hindered by the high OG, it will ferment to semi-sweet, which is what I want. The wyeast will ferment fairly well - but I've not pushed it to see how high a tolerance it has. We'll see with this batch. I've just never started with such a high OG. That was my real concern.

WRATHWILDE
10-02-2005, 09:15 PM
Might not hurt to make a starter if you're unsure , but if you give it plenty of air & nutrients, I don't think you'll have a problem. The High SG I don't think will hinder the finish, it might get off to a slow start though.

Wrathwilde

memento
10-02-2005, 09:56 PM
cool. thanks! We'll see tomorrow.

Pewter_of_Deodar
10-03-2005, 12:46 PM
So is it bubbling today?

Curious minds need to know...

memento
10-03-2005, 06:25 PM
I just got home and checked. :) happily bubbling away. I guess I got prematurely freaked out.

Pawn
10-03-2005, 06:40 PM
Thats great news!