PDA

View Full Version : Must we keep our mead in the dark?

MacLupine
10-15-2005, 08:17 PM
What adverse effects does light have on mead while fermenting?
I did a search on "Effects of Light" and heh... the results were not what I wanted.

Oskaar
10-16-2005, 04:33 AM
This thread started on UV sanitization but there is good information about the effect of UV light on aging mead.

http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=103&topic=1443.msg11341#msg11341

Cheers,

Oskaar

mead_monkey
10-16-2005, 09:29 AM
*(throws blanket over carboy)*

oops!! :o

JamesP
10-16-2005, 06:01 PM
For beer, light causes off-flavours (I'm no beer expert). IIRC, it is related to the hops, so maybe you would need to be extra careful with a braggot.

I ferment in PETE, which is clear. I keep the carboys out of direct sunlight (except when I sit it in the sun to warm the yeasties up in winter). But they sit in a room where they receive light indirectly (ie, it's not in a dark cellar with only artificial lighting).

I wouldn't lose sleep over it during fermentation. Avoid sunlight (direct) if possible during aging.

YMMV

byathread
10-24-2005, 05:01 PM
The problem with "light struck" beer is that sunlight and florescent lighting (to a lesser extent) react with the oils in hops to turn the aroma/flavor skunky. I have tasted homebrews affected thusly and it is both noticable and unpleasant. :o
I'm less clear on how it affects wines/meads, but my view is that since it is not necessary and may be detrimental, avoid it at all costs! :)

Freedom Foundry
10-24-2005, 09:18 PM
I ferment in PETE, which is clear. I keep the carboys out of direct sunlight (except when I sit it in the sun to warm the yeasties up in winter).

YMMV

Have you tried covering your carboy with a black blanket in the sunlight? That might warm it up without danger of skunking.

JamesP
10-24-2005, 11:11 PM