PDA

View Full Version : Mead vinegars?

Consul
11-12-2005, 11:07 PM
I don't know if this should be in NewBees or not. Since I am one, it seemed the best place. ;D

I plan on starting my very first batch, a gallon of Ancient Orange, on Monday, since that's when I'll be able to go to the semi-local home brew store to get some gear. Please wish me well. :)

One thing I'm curious about, though, is mead vinegars. You see, I'm a major foodie and amateur chef in addition to being a didgeridoo player and general purpose Linux admin. Always on the prowl for new ingredients, the idea of making my own mead and mead vinegar for cooking is quite appetizing.

I know it must seem like sacrelige to sacrifice a successful mead in order to make a tangy tank of spoiled honey wine, but it seems to me that it would be a killer ingredient for salad dressings, marinades, and other creative consumables.

Has anyone here every made mead vinegar? How do you feel it turned out, if indeed you have?

Thank you for your time.

Dmntd
11-13-2005, 10:01 AM
Hey Darren,

I make vinegar from semi-sweet, dry and malt mead (braggot), It turns out wonder. At tastings, the semi-sweet mead vinegar has been the most popular, followed by the malt. The stronger the honey flavor is in the mead, the more honey flavor the vinehar has.

I also have a love of fine food and creative cooking, play anything with strings (banjo, guitar, fiddle, bass... ), and run a SlackWare system using kernel I compiled.

Here's another thread on vinegar - http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=103&topic=1438.0 -

Happy mazing,

Anthony

Consul
11-13-2005, 11:57 AM
I always feel a warmth to those kindred spirits who have compiled their own kernels. ;)

It is definitely nice to know that mead vinegars are possible, and that others have followed that path. I think I'll reserve one of my first bottles of Joe's Ancient Orange for making a bottle of vinegar, to see how well it turns out.