PDA

View Full Version : Ice brewing

babu
12-15-2005, 03:10 PM
i am a beginner mead maker and am wondering about ice brewing. i live in a moderate climate, but we get severe cold snaps (-10 or more) in jan/feb which usually last for ten days at a time or more. my thinking is, after my initial stages of fermentation are done and i rerack my mead (raspberry this time) i can sit it outside during one of these cold snaps in order to increase the alcohol content. anyone with any experience on this?

Angus
12-15-2005, 04:38 PM
Welcome Babu,

Yes, it has been discussed before.

http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=103&topic=2819.msg23273#msg23273

Note the issue of legality at the end though.

Angus

P.S. You can use the 'Search' function located between the Help and Profile buttons above to find topics previously discussed.

WRATHWILDE
12-15-2005, 05:44 PM
I left my Pyment out for 10 hours in temperatures between 0 to 10 (f) to try and get the yeast to drop... it never developed any ice. I had the carboy in a larger bucket of water that froze solid. My thinking on this was that the solid ice that froze around the carboy would keep it cold when I brought it back inside so that the carboy could remain cold and undisturbed for several hours before I bottled. For those who are interested... the yeast never dropped. I drew off a couple of bottles anyway. Angus can attest to the taste of the pyment even with residual yeast.

My point being... it's going to have to be freaking cold out to work.

Wrathwilde

Mu
12-15-2005, 10:47 PM
Oh cold distillation, I hadn’t thought of that. In terms of distillation in Australia, you can own a 5l still for distilling water and essential oils but not alcohol <in Victoria at least> my point being you can buy decent stills so you don’t risk blowing yourself up. In New Zealand distillation of alcohol is 100% legal.