PDA

View Full Version : What determines the amount of time it takes to make mead?

CordiallyYours
12-15-2005, 05:43 PM
I'm fairly new to making mead, and have a question about the time it takes to make a finished product. I have seen recipes that say the mead is ready to drink in 2 weeks, or 4 weeks, or 2 months, or 6 months, etc. What I'm curious about is what drives these numbers? If I understand it correctly, the fermentation is usually stopped when the alcohol content gets to a point where the yeast cannot survive. And it seems that in most cases that point is reached in about 4 weeks, give or take. So then why do some recipes say you can bottle and serve almost immediately after fermentation stops, while other recipes call for racking once a month for the next 5 months? I have no problem waiting for a good product if that's what's necessary, but I really don't understand what the difference is. Thank you in advance to anyone who will take a little time to help me understand.

WRATHWILDE
12-15-2005, 06:01 PM
Welcome to the Forum!

Generally the higher the Alcohol content the longer it needs to age. Also meads that end sweet tend to be drinkable quicker. Remember, Just because someone considers something drinkable... doesn't mean it's good mead. The longer you let the mead age the better it will be. This is true with "Quick Meads", Joe's Ancient Orange, Melomels, Pyments... ad infinitum. Personally right now I won't drink any of my meads at less than 6 months. I'm shooting for a year before drinking and next year I'll be shooting for two years. I might taste it at racking to make sure it's doing OK and heading in the right direction, but I don't draw off any to "drink".

Hope that helps,
Wrathwilde

lostnbronx
12-15-2005, 07:29 PM
CY,

Welcome to the Forums!