View Full Version : first batch

01-23-2006, 02:35 AM
I am completely new to brewing, and now have my first batch of mead in the making. For my recipe I used:
1 1/2 lbs clover honey
25 raisins
1 gal spring water
2 packs red star yeast

I didn't pasturize or boil, I just used the ingredients straight. For the first day or so, the fermentation was crazy. Now it has slown down significantly. I didn't take a hydrometer reading before fermentation. I was told if it is a very dry mead, I could use a vinometer to get the % alcohol, but I'm not sure if it will end up being dry or sweet. How do I find how much % alcohol is in it, and when fermentation is done. Does this recipe sound like it will turn out? Thanks in advance for you help.

01-23-2006, 02:51 AM
Honey’s sugar content will vary from batch to batch but you could use they mead calculator found here:

Probably about 7-8% for your mead, and id say your yeast should make that easily so a dry mead. Then again I don’t know what your yeast will ferment to. 7-8% is that considered a short mead?

01-23-2006, 04:16 AM
Mu is right on the money...

1.5 pounds of honey in a gallon equates to about 7.5% alcohol, your yeast should make that easily, so it will be quite dry at finish, and probably quite thin without much character... partially because I'm assuming you used a commercial store bought clover honey, and second because of so little honey used. Most mead recipes are from 2.5 pounds to about 4 pounds per gallon. It may take many months before it's considered drinkable, so don't be discouraged. I would suggest, at the very least, finding a pound of a high quality speciality honey to mix in there as well, it should still ferment dry... about 12.5% alcohol with more body and character.

01-23-2006, 11:53 AM