PDA

View Full Version : Just nervous-moral support please

Holly
01-28-2006, 12:51 PM
Good morning everyone. I have been brewing beer for about 5 years now and have good results. I decided to branch off into mead...well really Metheglin for the A&S Competitons in the SCA. (I saw a couple of people are also doing this, too. Hi to you!)

I guess I just need some moral support this morning. I think its time to rack the Whole Hive Heather/Rose Hip Metheglin over to the secondary. I combined a couple of recipes (one being the Heather Metheglin from gotmead.com) and the methods from the other recipes to get the following...
_________________________________________________I nfused 1 gal H20 with 6c. dried Heather and 2T. Crushed Rose hips. Steeped this overnight
Added 3 Gal H20 raised to boiling
At 120 Degrees added 1 oz Bee Pollen (2 T), 1 oz Royal Jelly, 1 oz. Raw Propolis (ask my why if you really want to know..)
At 185 degrees added the 12 lbs Clover Honey
Cooled to 85 degrees
Added another 2 c dried heather and 1 T rose hips in mesh bag to must
Pitched 5g Redstar Premier Cuvee Yeast at about 85 degrees
It started fermenting nicely within about 8 hours. At about 72-74 degrees
3 Days later, I removed the mesh bag

Its been fermenting nicely for 27 days. I noticed yesterday it seemed to be slowing... and this morningit done be stopped...of course as I type that it bubbled...but its only bubling every minute or more...

And dangit - of course I forgot to take a starting gravity. booger. I am getting sloppy with my note taking the more I brew, bad bad.

So I guess it all comes down to what should I do next?
Do I rack it to a 6.5 or 5 gal carboy (have both...so which?)
Should I do anything else? or think about doing anything else?
I think I might try to preserve the lees (right term? for alll the gunk) after racking it...

As I said, this is my first mead/metheglin, so moral support is wonderful! And I have really enjoyed perusing the postings here!

Thanks!