PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

moonorb_xion
02-06-2006, 02:10 PM
Hi everyone ;D

Im new to Mead making but ive made wines and beers for 11 years now from the age of 12 hehe ;)
I decided to try and attempt to make mead using the following recipe for 1 Gallon!

3lb Honey
1lb Raisins
1tbs Yeast
1tbs of Nutrient
1/8th Cup of Tea leaves.

I Decided to not boil the must since i read its better not to, just warmed the water to help disolve the honey. I added all the ingredients to the Demijohn (except Yeast) and topped off with the extra water needed and allowed to cool to room temp.
I Tested with Hydrometer reading was 1.100 I think thats ideal?
I activated the yeast and then added to the must and shaked well. Its now Been about 8 hours fermentation seems to have started since the Airlock is bubbling away nicely but im not sure on this issue, so could anyone help please?

I have froth on top of the must and my raisins have decided to float! Is this Ok? My raisins wasnt coated with any oils and nothing added to them!

Thanks for your help in Advance

lostnbronx
02-06-2006, 02:25 PM
Moonorb,

Welcome to the Forums! This is a great resource for all things mead, and you'll find a ton of info on everything from honey to fermentation details.

Regarding your recipe, what kind of yeast did you use? For most wine yeasts, and even bread yeasts, 3 pounds of honey will leave you with a dry mead -- not a bad thing at all, provided it's what you're after.

The raisins floating on top are perfectly normal (in time, they'll rehydrate completely and look just like grapes again), and action in the airlock sounds nice and healthy. For a simple first recipe, this seems quite nice!

Again, welcome aboard!

-David

moonorb_xion
02-06-2006, 02:41 PM
Hi david,

That sounds good, i wasnt sure what to think when i noticed them floating along with froth :P