PDA

View Full Version : Question for the experienced.

gryphon
02-06-2006, 09:46 PM
Being new to brewing mead I'm a bit concerned with my 5 gal batch right now. It is fermenting quite slowly, a little under a minute a bubble from the airlock. I did a check of the SG a bit ago and it has no yeast head at all and is at about 1.100 SG. I've brewed mostly ciders and a few wines so I would appreciate some feedback as I'm new to mead

Lugh
02-06-2006, 09:58 PM
Hi Gryphon, welcome to the boards.

Please provide as much info as you can: how long it's been fermenting, what type of yeast, what went into the mead and how much, what was the starting gravity, etc. The more info you provide, the more help we can provide.

Just a note - no yeast head/foam/krausen on mead is often typical for me. Mead just doesn't have the proteins and massive yeast builds that beers and ciders have. It also depends on the type of yeast you are using and other ingredients.

gryphon
02-06-2006, 10:14 PM
Ok, here is what I used...
15 lbs Honey
1 Tbsp Gypsum
4 tsp Acid Blend
3 tsp Yeast Nutrient
2 pk Red Star Champagne Yeast (made up into a starter)
Boiled for 15 min, straining off the foam and once cool enough transfered to the primary.
Then added cool purified water to make up 5 gal and added the yeast at 72F
OG 1.100 2/2/2006

There is some yeast activity, but it's a lot less than what I'm use to with ciders and wines so I'm a bit concerned. It has been going about the same rate (judging from the bubbles from the lock) I've heard mead is a slow fermenter but I'm still putting up the question so I can hopefully correct any problems early and not waste months of my larger primary's potential..

Oskaar
02-06-2006, 11:14 PM
OK,

Here's the deal. Welcome to the Forums!

Now, Let's look at the mix.