• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Ancient Orange Didn't Take Off

Barrel Char Wood Products
A

Ardissa

Hey y'all, this is my first time posting and I'm worried about my ancient orange mead!

I started my one gallon batch lastnight and followed Joe's directions and ingredients to the letter and left it in my cabinet overnight. It's about 66 degrees in here.

This morning, when I checked, there was no airlock activity...it didn't even look like anything had foamed up into the 3 inches of airspace I allowed.

So today, about 14 hours after I first pitched the yeast, I added some more yeast (1 tsp)...this time I rehydrated it first (ah! don't beat me!) in some warm water (didn't measure the temp) and a little of the must...waited till it was all foamy and dumped it into my gallon jug.

Immediately I noticed airlock activity, but now it seems a bit slow...it's bubbling at about one bubble every 20 seconds. It's on top of the heater right now at about 70 degrees and covered with a towel to keep out light.

My questions are: