• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Bottling worries

Barrel Char Wood Products

Somethingfunny

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 6, 2017
Hi everyone! I'm new to mead making and new to this forum, so I apologise for my probably very stupid question... even if it is stupid, I'm genuinely concerned and trying to learn though so please don't get mad at me :-/

In mid-May I started making some mead for my wedding at the end of this month (October). I took a recipe from the internet but can no longer find the same link. I used 3 regular jars (340g) of honey in a gallon demijohn with water, a packet of winemaking yeast, and also added (not in the recipe) around 400g (unweighed) of syrup made from cooked down fruits (raspberries, blackcurrants etc) from my garden. The recipe stated it would need 2 months in the demijohn and could then be bottled. As I had added more sugar through he fruits, I left it longer.