Thread: Anyone ever done bee removal before.

Default Anyone ever done bee removal before.

A guy at work knows someone who supposedly has a bee infestation and was wanting to know if I was interested. From what I have read about this before you almost never get the queen and with it being so late in the season I really see no way to salvage the colony except to see if they want to join one of my current colonies.
    So of course there would be some papers sighned preventing me from being responsible for damages. But what do I charge? I have read sometime before that the going rate was $500.
    That would be a nice chunk of change. But is that really reasonable, I was thinking something more like $200.
    Anyways I have no experience removing bees from anywhere but from their supers..
    But I think I can pull it off.
    I have a feeling it really isn't bee's but who knows.

So any advice is welcome, maybe it is more trouble than it is worth.

Default Re: Anyone ever done bee removal before.

kace,

Depending on what the homeowner wants, $500 may not be out of line. Properly done, the bees should be removed as well as the old comb with the honey, wax and brood.

Leaving the hive remains behind is going to be attractive to next years swarms, and to other pests like mice. (Duh, I forgot - you're a beekeeper so you'll know that...sorry...)

The homeowner should expect to pay for a carpenter to either assist you or to repair the walls you will probably need to open to extract the comb.

Don't feel bad about charging for your services. You probably won't be able to salvage the colony, or the honey. The wax from the comb you might be able to salvage. Their insurance company may even pay for the infestation remediation - which should include any structural repairs necessary.

Make sure you have a very clear idea of what they want and that they have a very clear idea of what you can do.

Good luck with it.

David
    David Baldwin
    Michigan Meadery LLC