Thread: When to move to secondary?

1. Default When to move to secondary?

Greetings!

I'm a newbie to any kind of homebrewing and have wanted to try my hand at Mead for quite some time now. Finally took the plunge, got the equipment, and have two batches going. One is the 4 star rated "Quick Mead" from the recipes section which is doing quite nicely. The first batch we started was a regular style that takes longer.

When should it be moved to the secondary? I don't want it to sit on the lees for too long and pick up off flavors, and it has been about two weeks now. The bubbling in the airlock is about once every 12-14 seconds now (about 4 times a minute, compared to the more rapid and newer Quick Mead at 2-3 seconds per bubble). Is it too soon to move it to the secondary, smaller carboy? I've seen conflicting information about time vs activity.

We're aiming to be as natural and old-fashioned as possible with this particular batch (w/o chemicals, no added ingredients) except for the fact we started with yeast nutrient. Next time we will omit that, too. We'll see how that works compared to the Quick Mead with its clarifiers and tannin both on account of time and flavor. Kinda gives us newbies both sides of the spectrum.

We're looking at the Quick Mead being done just before Father's Day, so we might have to take a bottle out to try over the weekend if it all turns out!

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

2. Default Re: When to move to secondary?

I rack when the airlock is bubbling once every 1-2 minutes, so IMO it is too soon for you to rack it to the secondary. Give it another couple days and it should get there. Off flavors from sitting on the lees don't start to happen until 6+ weeks, so don't worry about that. However, if you rack too early your fermentation can get stuck.

Hope that helps!

3. Default Re: When to move to secondary?

Ditto what he said.