Thread: Fermentation temp question

1. Default Fermentation temp question

Hey all! I'm a long time homebrewer and new mead maker. it took me a while to dip my feet into because for a couple reasons. The first one is because my first experience with mead was bad. Some homebrew buddies gave me some bottles to try years ago and they were bad. Lighter fluid! But I tried some made by a buddy that works in my local homebrew shop and it was good. My severely bad back is making me decrease my beer making so I decided to try mead.

On labor day put together a must based on the orange blossom semi-sweet in Ken Schram's book. I used 16.5 lbs of honey (OG of 1.123) with two packets (rehydrated) of 71B and sequential nutrient additions.

I use a fridge with a Ranco temp controller (probe taped to bucket and covered with bubble wrap) to control fermentation temps. I set the ferm temp at 67F for fear of higher alcohols (well within the range of 71B).

Ferm seems to be slow, but I have no experience with mead:

1.123 09/07/10
    1.115 09/08/10
    1.109 09/09/10
    1.101 09/10/10
    1.089 09/13/10

Is this normal and/or is this a balancing act between ferm temp and ferm rate.

Thanks

2. Default

The staggered nutrients were a good idea. Without knowing your exact schedule for them its hard to tell if lack of nutrients could have been a factor.

That being said, most of my mead fermentations are in the upper 60's and are fine. As a well experienced beer brewer myself, I can say that meads will take longer to ferment. If I remember correctly, wine strains tend to ferment slower than beer strains and the increased gravity can both be contributing factors.

I did one mead with the 71B strain and if I remember correctly, it was on the slow side for me too.