Shop Bee Folks for your Honey!
  1. Default Ultra small batch, how small?

I would like to try making mead but I only drink like one glass a week or month so making 5 liters would mean a year's supply plus! I also want to experament with different recipes and stuff so I was thinking that 250ml might be more a good size per batch for me. Will this work or must you make big 5 liter batches?
    Any tips? I am a newbie.
    Thanks all!

You can get a 1/2 gallon glass jug that will work well as a small fermentor. Yield from 1/2 gallon will only be maybe 2 wine bottles of mead.
    Dave from New Haven County

Amazon sells fermentation tops to put on quart size mason jars. I do experiments with that one.

Is this a joke? Are you pranking us?
    7 out of 4 people have a hard time using their hydrometer!

I haven't gone that small yet with mead (so far I have done 3-qt batches in 1-gallon glass "carboys" that originally held apple juice), but I have done 1-qt batches of beer in 1.5 liter "carboys" that originally held wine, to learn individual ingredients. Once I had tasted the specific ingredients, I didn't want more than the 2 bottles that were produced (with one exception that became a regular habit). It was just a matter of scaling down the recipe and using essentially the same process as usual, using smaller equipment. There was little time savings compared to something like 2.5-gallon batches, but the point was to learn, not to produce much volume. With mead, the lifetime can be very long, and conditioning actually lets the mead improve. So, I would just plan to make a regular batch, and enjoy it at your own pace.

My first attempts were with 1.5L soda bottles as fermenters. I got some very tasty results with them. Just follow a simple recipe for a traditional mead. Also: clean, clean, clean, clean, clean!!!!!
    Sec.: Nefu 1/1 Meth. (2016)

7. Default

Quote Originally Posted by Swordnut View Post