Thread: dry mead

1. Default dry mead

I am looking for recipes as well as process hints for plain dry mead. I am relatively new to this and the few attempts I've made so far have not been successful. Basically each batch gets stuck at about 1.020 (after starting at 1.090) and when allowed to finish to 1.000 has a slightly bitter finish and a bouquet that can best be described as hair perming solution. I use tartaric and malic acid as well as nutrient and energizer and Red Star Champaign yeast.

Any suggestions would be greatly apprciated. Thanks.

Default Re: dry mead

John,

If you are new and want a nice dry mead that is not harsh then keep it simple.
    Try using Lalvin EC-1118 or K1V-1116 yeast and honey and tap water to 1.090 and use only 1/2t of nutrients per gallon. Add no acid of any kind or energizer.

Works every time.

Joe

I agree with Joe.

If you're looking for a simple five gallon dry mead recipe try this one too:

4 Gallons H20
    1 Gallon Honey (your choice but it should be a good quality varietal honey)
    5 Grams Lalvin 71B-1122
    2 Teaspoons Nutrient
    2 Teaspoon Energizer

Steps:
    1. Rehydrate your yeast per manufacturers instructions: http://consumer.lallemand.com/dansta...lvinrehyd.html

2. Dissolve the honey in the water add the nutrient and energizer

3. Pitch your yeast, mix well, aerate the heck out of your must

4. Seal your vessel and airlock it.

5. Once the airlock starts popping, watch it daily until it slows to 1 or two pop per minute and rack to secondary, check your gravity.

6. Rack again when you stop throwing lees, check gravity.

7. Age as long as you can stand it, check gravity every few weeks and see what it tastes like.

Cheers,

Oskaar

Is it tasty . . . precious?