Thread: Smaller batches for starting out?

1. Default Smaller batches for starting out?

Hi, all! Newbie here, though I'm no stranger to cooking.

This may seem like a stupid question, but is there a reason not to start out my mead making career with one-gallon batches? Glass gallon jars are easy to come by, and it seems like taking the chance of wasting five gallons worth of ingredients on a potentially bad beginners batch (I love alliteration) may not be a good idea.

Thank you all for your help.

2. Default Re: Smaller batches for starting out?

I've too just started, and have been sticking to one gallon batches. I feel it gives me the practice, but costs much less as well. Of course there is less to go around, so you might not see the aging as well, but trade offs are everywhere...

Default Re: Smaller batches for starting out?

Consistency is usually the issue, but for the price its hard to beat

Some other links:
    http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?opt...3&topic=1909.0 (Joe's advice is excellent)
    http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?opt...3&topic=1075.0

4. Default Re: Smaller batches for starting out?

I started with 1 gal batches but quickly went to 5gallons
    If you start with 1 gallon, keep really good notes, it will be easier to reproduce on a large batch in case you find *the one* that you really like.

Ted
    P.S. Welcome to the forums!!

5. Default Re: Smaller batches for starting out?

Cool! Thanks everyone, and especially for the links, JamesP. They were good reading.

Maybe I'll split the difference and go for a three-gallon batch for my first.

If you are going to do 1 gallon batches, and enjoy experimenting, you can easily do comparison tests.

Make a few 1 gallon batches at the same time, using the same recipe, but change one variable:

1) use different yeast in each.
    or
    2) add a different fruit to each when fermented.
    or