Thread: newbie needs help

jtaylert Gotmead Visitor

Default newbie needs help

hello all and thank you for being here. i am a newbie at making mead, but have been brewing beer for many years. i have made only one mead,with champaign yeast,and recieved mixed feedback.it seems not everyone appreciates a dry mead. i am currrently trying my hand ata sweet mead, nothing fancy, just good old fermented honey water, and would like some suggestions on yeast selection. as a beer brewer, i am well equipped, so should have no problem with different packaging of yeast.im not trying to make nectar of the gods,yet, just nectar for the guys.thanks again in advance for your help.

Default Re: newbie needs help

Welcome jtaylert,

I found the following link to be the best rundown of yeasts to use.

http://winemakermag.com/referencegui...tstrainschart/

Use this and search the forum to find how different people have used different yeasts to get a specific flavor or sweetness. From what I have read, D47 seems to be a sturdy yeast that can provide a nice sweet mead given sufficient honey. That is the one I am experimenting with now. Good luck.

Angus

P.S. You may want to move this topic to the NewBee section.
    Chan fhíach cuírm gun a còmhradh

A feast is no use without good talk.

jtaylert Gotmead Visitor

thanks for the info. also, does the fermentation temp have anything to do with sweetness? i was told the cooler the better.i have cote des blancs and it ws sugguested that i wrap a cool towel around the fermenter. also i had planned to use approx 10-12lbs of honey. does that sound right or should i up it? thanls again.

say what you mead,mead what you say