PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone, lookin for some advice.

CrazyViking
12-03-2007, 07:08 PM
First off, thanks so much to vicki and everyone else who may have helped put this site together, its absolute gold.

DISCLAIMER - because im a noob, im asking alot of open ended questions, and it may seem like im asking for specific guidelines and rules, and im aware mead making is a very fluid process, so really, im just asking for opinions, and perhaps someone to say "i did that its a great idea" or "i did that.... dont do it... not even to save a puppy."

I have been toying around with the idea of home brewing mead for a while now, and my roomate at college just bought all the supplies to brew beer, so its given me a bit of an extra shove. I am just getting started as far as putting my stuff together, and am toying around with a few crazy ideas that i dont know are good, and am looking to get sorted out by people who know far better than I.

First, the issue of sanitizing bottles, carboys, and equipment. Im not really keen on the idea of using chemicals, especially when the whole nature of the beast here is all natural mead. Im kinda a tree hugging hippie that way. (Biodiesel truck in the near future) so i was wondering if using a steam cleaner would work to clean all the equipment between uses. Or if anyone had tried it. I read a thread about using the dishwasher, but i dont have one of those, and even then people used oxy-clean and whatnot. and then i found the following table posted by Mu. for steralizing bottles. great stuff. Im assuming if i use a steam sprayer to clean all the old stuff out, and use those times and heat ranges, i should be ok right?

Dry heat Sterilization:
338F (170C) for 60 minutes
320F (160C) for 120 minutes
302F (150C) for 150 minutes
284F (140C) for 180 minutes
250F (121C) for 12 hours