• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

My first batch ever seems to have stopped short...

Barrel Char Wood Products

paulfmoss

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 11, 2009
Glenside, Pa.
I am new to mead making, having very successfully brewed great ales for years. I had a particularly good harvest of pears this year, and decided to use some of them in my first mead experiment. I sterilized my equipment and pasteurized the honey at 160 deg F for twenty minutes before adding it to the water, spices and pears, all of which were boiled prior to adding the honey.

Being new to mead, I thought I would start with a small batch. Basing my recipe on a grilled pear dish that we like, I added 5 pounds of pears, a handful of peppercorns and about a one inch piece of ginger root, grated, to the seven pounds of local clover honey, making a total volume of 2 gallons of finished must. I am looking for a dry finish, and my local brewing supplier recommended Lalvin champagne yeast, which I pitched after cooling the must to about 80 deg F. OG approx 1.140.