• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Metheglin stuck after transfer

Barrel Char Wood Products

chouettes

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 7, 2010
Hemmingford,Quebec
This is my first try at mead-making. Started and followed a 3 gal. recipe to the letter for sweet Metheglin in 5 gal. pail on October 3, 2010. Started my yeast starter the day before (very active). Yeast used is EC-1118. ( Dried raisins, yeast nutrient, whole cloves, cinnamon stick, nutmeg, ginger root, etc.) My S.G. was over my hydrometer scale so not sure what it was: recipe called for 12 lbs. honey. T.A. was 0.45% so added acid blend to bring it up to 0.65%, I had 3 sliced oranges still in there so I figured they would do the rest. Temp.=70F. Was fermenting beautifully. Smells and tastes good. Still sweet with nice acidy orange taste.
Today, October 8, 2010. Transfer day. S.G.=1.062 T.A.=0.75%. Is that too high?. Wasn't sure so I added 2 cups water to the must.