• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Hi all

Barrel Char Wood Products

leesbees

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 20, 2011
Uk
Hi all
I am new to home brew, I was wondering can you just replace the same amount of honey as sugar like where it says 3lb sugar just put in 3lb honey with yeast nutrient, :confused: I am looking for recipes that i can use from my allotment, I made some broad bean wine last year from C J Berry. worked out fine. got some barley i would like to try
Hope some one has the answer
Thanks
Lee

Chevette Girl

All around BAD EXAMPLE
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Apr 27, 2010
Ottawa, ON
Because sugar by weight is all sugar, and honey by weight is mostly sugar and partially water, you need a little bit more honey by weight, for a 1-gal batch a good ballpark is 1/4 lb to 1/2 lb, just keep an eye on your specific gravity :)

Medsen Fey

Fuselier since 2007
Premium Patron
A rough rule of thumb is to estimate the moisture content of honey at 20% so that it is 80% sugar by weight. If you have a recipe that call for 2 Kg sugar, about 2.5 Kg of honey will get you there. If you have a more precise measurement of the moisture in your honey, you can probably get closer.