• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Must won't ferment

Barrel Char Wood Products

Redrider1080

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 23, 2011
Hello all,

I am a newbie and this is my second attempt at making mead. The first time I tried I used 15 lbs honey, 4 gallons distilled water, 2 tsp. yeast nutrient and some Wyeast sweet mead yeast. I Boiled the water and honey and once it cooled to 75 F I added the nutrient and the yeast (Prepared according to the package). I put the lid on the bucket with the airlock and waited for it to do its thing. Not one bubble for a week and after finally opening it to see if anything looked different I found some large patches of mold on the surface. I decided to dump it. I figured that there was too much honey per gallon of water for the temperamental yeast that I used and because there was no fermentation the mold was allowed to grow.