• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Complete NewBee here

Barrel Char Wood Products

armyturner

NewBee
Registered Member
Nov 8, 2011
I got a heck of a deal on my first 7 hives of bees this year and have been trying to figure out what to do with some of the honey. I made my way over here from one of the bee forums. I like to partake in an adult beverage now and then, so I believe that my first homemade beverage will be mead. I also garden as well as pick some wild blackberries and muscadines. I think I will buy the necessary equipment after the first of the year and get a batch going, then maybe switch gears to some fruit wine in the summer. I have enjoyed the knowledge here so far and look foreward to learning a lot more in the next couple of months.

The honey that I have is dark and strong. It is mostly made from soybean fields. Anyone use any from soybean honey for mead before?

Chevette Girl

All around BAD EXAMPLE
Lifetime GotMead Patron
Apr 27, 2010
Ottawa, ON
Welcome to the forum!

I have no experience with a similar honey, all I can generally get is clover, goldenrod and buckwheat around here. Definitely sounds interesting!