• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Another stuck mead, repitch with different yeast?

Barrel Char Wood Products

Azagal

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 29, 2013
Hi everyone, I'm new to mead-making, never had training or anything, but i sure read a lot.
I have started a +-5gallon batch with the following recipe:

BATCH
21 lbs of nohey
5.25 gallons of water
3 tea spoons of nutriments (from the whinemaking store)
1 Wyeast 4184 pacquet (yes, I know...)
5 Campden tablets (put in mush 24h before pitching starter)

STARTER
Smacked the pack... and left it swell overnight, oops.
Warmed 4 cups water
1 lbs (1,33 cup) of honey (overall, same gravity as primary fermenter batch)
Waited 48h.

Original gravity was 1,11, the airlock only started bubbling after 7 days and was always around 45 seconds to a minute between bubbles.

Right now, in 28 days, it got to 1,09 gravity, the liquid is stil fizzy and no off-taste or visible nastiness.
The temerature has been 70 F (21 C).
I didnt test the acidity, but it sure doesnt taste acidic ;)

So... again, the cursed Wyeast 4184, it is not 100% stuck, but it is worryingly slow.