• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

All Natural Traditional

Barrel Char Wood Products

staugustine10

NewBee
Registered Member
Mar 5, 2013
Virginia Beach
I am new to brewing and I am very excited to be making my first mead. I'm going with a traditional mead with only all natural ingredients (no DAP, no urea, ect).

My wife is really into health/organic/all natural things. So to win her support for my new hobby, I'm making it a "health" thing.

Here's the recipe: (added straight with no boiling)
- 17.5 lbs Raw Clover Honey (Bee Flower & Sun Honey)
- Spring Water to make 5 gal
- WLP720 Sweet Mead Yeast
- HomeMade Yeast Nutrient consisting of the following:
- Powdered Amino Acids (taken from capsules)
- Bee Pollen, Y.S. Eco Bee Farms, Whole Granules
- Brewer’s Yeast (inactive)
- Powdered Multi-Vitamin (also taken from capsules)

I am aiming to use primarily the amino acids to achieve about 250ppm N.

I'm assuming that my formula for nutrient is something close to Fermaid O, which I read on another blog is about 6.5% Nitrogen. If my calculations are right, then every tsp of my homemade nutrient will give me about 10ppm N in a 5 gal must.