• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Apple pie mead questions

Barrel Char Wood Products

kyleyandell

NewBee
Registered Member
May 10, 2013
Hello this is my first time making mead and I decides to try out apple pie. I have a 1 gallon carboy with 3lbs of honey and slightly leas than 1 gallon of apple cider, I also put 50 raisins and 2 tablespoons Brown sugar. My question is, it there too much sugar for the yeast?

My second question is; I shook my carboy with must inside and uncorked to place the airlock on, as I uncorked the must exploded out the top, I lost about a cup of fluid. I added some more yeast and and a tsp of energizer. Is my mead ruined?

fatbloke

good egg/snappy dresser.....
GotMead Patron
Ruined ? No.

As for the rest of your question ? A bit hard to judge or advise as there's no yeast listed.

So if you post a full list of all ingredients, what you've done with them and details of any measurements or readings taken, I'm sure one of us will be happy to point you in the right direction......

Welcome to tbe forums....

kyleyandell

NewBee
Registered Member
May 10, 2013