• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Ginger Bug Mead?

Barrel Char Wood Products

ErinElizabeth

NewBee
Registered Member
Jul 30, 2013
I'm totally new to meadmaking, though not to fermenting. I'm not even totally sure what sent me down this rabbit hole, I think I was looking at beekeeping and link hopping brought me here. Anywho, I'm so intrigued I've been reading everything I could find for a couple days now and I grabbed a bunch of honey from my local beekeeper this afternoon to try something out.

There aren't any brew stores around here (why not?? I live in the middle of Oregon wine country for pete's sake!) so I don't have easy access to tools or fancy materials. So until I'm ready to head to Portland which would be an all day deal I'm left with working with what I've got.

The honey I have is a rather dark blackberry/meadowseet combination (blended by the bees, wasn't that nice of em?) it's deliciously sweet/tart/with a hint of vanilla-ness and I'm thinking of a Ginger and Vanilla metheglin possibly with a tiny bit of cinnamon.