• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Help with my first batch

Barrel Char Wood Products

DTOMbrewer

NewBee
Registered Member
Sep 2, 2013
Central Ohio
I am new to homebrewing mead and have a few questions that I cannot find answers to. I'm a week into the fermentation and I think there may be something wrong with my first attempt.

Here is my recipe followed by my log.

INGREDIENTS:

3 cups 4 oz = 2.5 lbs of Deer Creek clover honey
2 small organic oranges (zested & peeled)
30 organic raisins
1 stick of organic cinnamon
1 whole organic clove
1 Pinch of finely ground organic nutmeg
1 whole organic allspice microplaned
1 pkg Lalvin D-47
1 gal Spring water

MEAD LOG

8/30 Prepare Must:
Use a clean 1 gallon carboy

Sanitize all utensils & use gloves while prepping

Dissolve honey in some warm water and put in carboy
6 cups spring water at 150°, ~#3 on stove, for 20 min to pasteurize honey

Sanitize orange well to remove any pesticides and wild yeast, then zest oranges, peel off excess rind, and slide slices through opening in carboy