• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Walnut Honey for Mead?

Barrel Char Wood Products

ScottMcArron

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 15, 2013
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Hey guys, newbie here. I've made a few relatively successful batches of mead so far, some better than others. Have a question I can't seem to find the answer for through searching this site. I've gotten my hands on some raw walnut honey from a local beekeeper here in Germany. It tastes fantastic! It's dark and, well, nutty. Quite the character.

Has anyone successfully made mead from walnut honey? I've seen people post about walnut extract or trying to use black walnuts without much success. Seems walnut honey might be the way to go to get that nutty character. What do you think? Any experience you can lend me in what might go wrong?

My plan:
3.5 lbs walnut honey
handful of raisins for the yeast (try to keep it as natural a process as possible)
D47 yeast (has worked well for me so far, and I have it on hand, and environment is under 70 degrees, so I believe it should be fine)
Fill to 1 gallon water

Any thoughts on this? Danke!

fatbloke

good egg/snappy dresser.....
GotMead Patron