• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

sweet mead methods

Barrel Char Wood Products

Oddball

NewBee
Registered Member
Nov 7, 2013
Montreal
Hello,

I have been brewing beer for about 2 years now and am starting to try my hand at mead making. I prefer sweat mead and have a question about the process.

Is there a consensus or "best practice" for producing sweet mead? Do you think that it is better to stop fermentation at a desired final gravity or to back sweeten?

Also as far as stopping the fermentation, what fg's produce different levels of sweetness?

Thanks for you help!

Jim H

Worker Bee
Registered Member
Jun 8, 2013
NYC
Hi oddball, welcome. I also came at this via beer brewing.

One of the folks on this forum, fatbloke, mentioned this general method to me, and so far, so good:
Ferment bone dry, to the limit of the yeast's tolerance, then backsweeten by adding honey (in small steps, until you know how much you like). You can adjust the tannins and acid in the same way. This lessens the chance of bottle bombs, and gives you the most control over the flavor. This is a very practical method.

danr

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Aug 2, 2012
San Diego, CA