• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Calculating sugar break with a 1 gallon batch

Barrel Char Wood Products

keith

NewBee
Registered Member
Apr 11, 2015
I'm new to mead and I have a couple 1 gallon jugs going now. The recipe I'm following wants me to add nutrients at 2/3 and 1/3 sugar break. I totally understand what this means but I don't know the best way to do this. I have a refractometer and a hydrometer.

From my understanding, the refractometer won't be correct after fermentation begins. The problem with the hydrometer is I will need to use quite a bit of my 1 gallon batch to get the gravity/brix.

Anyone know the best way to do this?

bernardsmith

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Sep 1, 2013
Saratoga Springs , NY