• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Custom made yeast

Barrel Char Wood Products

Lberry6595

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 16, 2014
Hey all,
So and introduction to start. I'm a senior biology student with a focus in microbiology. The other day I came up with an...interesting research project. What I'm planning is to take some specific genes from a lactobacillus strain (the bacteria that they use to make sour beers) and put them into a brewing yeast. All of the details aren't set just yet, but the idea is to make a yeast that behaves normally under normal brewing conditions, BUT when you add lactose, it produces acid, making a sour. So basically you'd have a normal brewing yeast that you can also use to make sours, just add lactose, and you don't have to worry about contaminating your brewing gear with bugs that are hard to get rid of, it'd just be yeast that works just fine as long as you're not using lactose.

Lberry6595

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 16, 2014