• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

How long until secondary

Barrel Char Wood Products

Skinner

NewBee
Registered Member
Nov 21, 2004
Hello,
I am new to mead making, just started my first batch about a week ago, November 20th, and have a question regarding my first racking.
What I know is that I should rack into a secondary as soon as the bubbling calms down.
But It's been almost a week and a half now, and theres still a little bubbling
should I wait? or should I go ahead and rack?
any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks

Oskaar

Got Mead Partner
Administrator
Dec 26, 2004
The OC
Dude,

Just give it some time until the bubbling stops, it could take another two weeks, or another few weeks. Bottom line is just let it go until it stops bubbling. Also check your fermentation vessel and make sure the the little bubbles have stopped too. They're the kind you see in a beer rising slowly to the surface.

Once that's done you can rack to your heart's content. Until then, keep repeating to yourself:

"If the bubbles come back, it ain't time to rack."

Oskaar

JoeM

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 9, 2004