• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

mead from just honey and water?

Barrel Char Wood Products

blackshadow

NewBee
Registered Member
Apr 10, 2005
Hi, I'm really new to this, and the only thing i've ever used yeast with is bread, and that didnt turn out so good either. I'm from ethiopia, and I had tej a few times, and liked it, but i think i would have preferred it without the bitter taste, which is why i'm gonna try making mead. All the recipes i've read so far have honey, water, yeast, AND other ingredients. I was wondering if it would be possible to make a good mead from just water, honey and yeast.

hedgehog

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 8, 2005
Hello,
The short answer to your question is yes. Mead can be made with just honey yeast and water.