• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

recipes and yeast

Barrel Char Wood Products

7_cmos_7

NewBee
Registered Member
Jul 13, 2005
Hi!
I'm a newbie...
I would like do make a sweat mead
What kind of yeast do you suggest?
and what recipes?
Bye,
Cmos.

Norskersword

NewBee
Registered Member
May 19, 2004
Welcome to the forum! If your new to mead, everyone on here will recommend you go buy The Compleat Meadmaker by Ken Schramm. You can't go wrong with that book and it will teach you everything you need to know.

A simple medium sweet mead recipe for a 5 gallon batch would be:

15 lbs Clover or Orange Blossom Honey
Fermaid K Yeast Nutrient
D-47 or 71B-1122 Yeast
Fill the rest of the jug with water

If you don't want to wait a long time for your mead to become drinkable, consider following Joe's 3 week recipe in the recipe section. Or Joe's Ancient Orange Mead.

7_cmos_7

NewBee
Registered Member
Jul 13, 2005
Hi! Where can I find those kind of yeast? Unfotunately I live in Italy and Mead isn't very known here!!!

Norskersword

NewBee
Registered Member
May 19, 2004