• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Where to buy mead?

Barrel Char Wood Products

Boris61

NewBee
Registered Member
Oct 17, 2005
I am new to this board, but more importantly, I am new to mead. In fact, I have never tasted mead. I have started brewing my own beer, but I would like to try my hand at mead. Prior to taking the next steps, I would like to try mead to get a sense of how the various types "should" taste. The problem is that I don't know where to get it. I live in NJ and after stopping in a dozen liquor/wine stores, I can not find anyone who carries mead. Through this great web-site, it is evident that honey-wine is not mead - so I will not make that mistake. Can anyone offer a suggestion or two for a newbie?
Thank you.
Bob

Alden

NewBee
Registered Member
Sep 13, 2005
Here are some options for you.

1. You might see if any of your bigger liquor stores can order some mead for you. Unfortunately, the major liquor stores around here only get Chaucer's mead, which I don't find all that good.