Shop Bee Folks for your Honey!Shop Bee Folks for your Honey!
  1. Default Fermentation stalled?

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to brewing mead. After successfully bottling my first batch of sweet mead a few months ago, I decided to try a dry mead. I used Lalvin EC-1118 rather than the generic wine yeast I used for the first batch, and the plan was to step feed the yeast. However after adding more honey, the fermentation seems to have greatly slowed.

The plan was to make about 4.5 litres of mead using about 1.3kg (900ml) of honey to 3.6 litres of water. I initially started with:

• 2.8 litres of water
    • 450g (300ml) honey
    • 5g packet of EC-1118
    • about ˝ tsp of DAP

I sterilised everything and boiled my water, then added the first 450g of honey and the DAP when the temperature had dropped below 40°C. I started the yeast off with a little sugar water in advance, and pitched it into the must when the temperature was below 30°C. I aerated for the first two days, and I've been giving the demijohn a swirl every other day without taking the airlock off mainly to keep the yeast in suspension without getting more oxygen into the must.

For the first week it seemed to be fermenting very fast. The airlock was bubbling every 9 seconds to begin with, and then after a week it had reduced to roughly every 20 seconds. At this point I decided to add another 450g of honey diluted with about 150ml of boiled (and cooled) water to help it dissolve into the must. Fermentation was very slow step fed it a week ago. I'm still seeing some small bubbles regularly rising to the surface, but the airlock isn't 'burping' at all now.

Have I stalled the fermentation by adding too much honey at once? Is there any way to kickstart the fermentation? Should I just leave it fermenting for a few more weeks?

Thanks in advance for any advice