• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Backsweetening a strawberry melomel?

Barrel Char Wood Products

Marcy

NewBee
Registered Member
Dec 30, 2008
Hey all, I'm fairly new to meadmaking and have a quick question.

I made a 3-gallon batch of strawberry melomel in June (red star champagne yeast, wildflower honey), and it seems like it's all fermented out and everything, beautiful color, perfectly clear, smells spectacularly of strawberries, and I'd be bottling it now except that the taste is ridiculously dry and tart. I want to sweeten it up but am wondering- do I need to sulfite it to be absolutely sure it's done fermenting first? Will honey at this point make it cloudy or have some other negative effect? And how much should I use? I tend to like sweeter meads but would be happy if this one just didn't pucker my face like biting a lemon.

If anybody has any advice I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Oskaar

Got Mead Partner
Administrator
Dec 26, 2004
The OC
Hi Marcy,

Welcome to Got Mead?

OK, we'll need a little more information from you before we tackle your questions.