PDA

View Full Version : Hey hey hey

Tsombais
01-05-2012, 10:05 AM
Hello there. Mead is cool. I thought I'd try it out. First batch seemed to be doing okay. Well, until I topped it up with tonic water accidentally. Woops. Ahh, the delicious taste of quinine. My mead's now malaria-proof which is a bonus I suppose. Apologies for the ridiculous name...I'm pretty crappy at coming up with online names. Also, this site has a cornucopia of delicious information that I've benefited from. Thanks for that! I'll be sharing more disastrous stories of how my first few batches go so stay tuned in.

Boogaloo
01-05-2012, 10:25 AM
WELCOME TO GOTMEAD!!

I'm a newb too... this site is awesome and I'm on my 8th batch since Sept. You're definitely in the right place to learn the craft. Everyone is friendly and extremely helpful.

Love this site.

(Oh... and I didn't know that about Tonic Water. Pretty cool.)

jlerner
01-05-2012, 11:55 AM
Welcome Tsombais!

Your quinine mead may turn out to be very interesting - other members have been pleasantly surprised by the accidental addition of "non-traditional" ingredients. (ferret mead (http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?p=124943&highlight=ferret#post124943) comes to mind here)

Can the yeast survive in quinine...? Please keep us in the loop and let us know how it goes. If nothing else, you might be able to use this batch for cooking.

PS - I was exposed to malaria during a military jaunt to Honduras in the 90's...I am delighted to know that mead may now be consumed for medicinal purposes!

Tsombais
01-05-2012, 12:16 PM
Welcome Tsombais!

Your quinine mead may turn out to be very interesting - other members have been pleasantly surprised by the accidental addition of "non-traditional" ingredients. (ferret mead (http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?p=124943&highlight=ferret#post124943) comes to mind here)